Two Falcons Receive Post Season Honors

Two Falcons Receive Post Season Honors

POINT LOOKOUT, MO. – Senior guard Kyle Holmes was named the the Second Team All-Conference at the A.I.I. Conference Tournament Awards Banquet.  Holmes finished the season with 617 points in 28 games.  He made 207 field goals, 91 3-pointers, and 112 free throws.  Throughout the season, Holmes grabbed 202 rebounds and added 79 assists.  Junior transfer DeAndre Pennington was also awarded with the Champions of Character Award.  

  Rochester College's Angelo Griffis was named the Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Year at a banquet prior to the start of the 2017 A.I.I. Basketball Championships.

Griffis, a senior guard from Kalamazoo, Mich., is 15th in NAIA Division II in points per game this season, averaging 21.3 per contest. Joining Griffis among individual honorees was Brian Bridgeforth of Washington Adventist University who was named the A.I.I. Division II Defensive Player of the Year. Jubril Osagie of Central Christian College was recognized as the Newcomer of the Year. Rochester College's Klint Pleasant was named A.I.I. Men's Basketball Coach of the Year by his peers after guiding his Warriors to a 28-1 regular season and enter the A.I.I. Championships as the number 4 team in the country.

All-Conference First Team honorees include Brian Bridgeforth (Washington Adventist University), Michael Gholston (Central Christian College), Angelo Griffis (Rochester College), Patrick Mitchell (Wilberforce University), and Cameron Paschke (College of the Ozarks). Second Team honorees are Andrew Bonner (Johnson & Wales University), Tyrus Fleetwood (Washington Adventist University), Kyle Holmes (Fisher College), Jaylen Larry (Rochester College), and Zach Thompson (Lincoln Christian University).

A.I.I. All-Conference Honorable Mention honorees are Samuel Clayborn (Central Christian College), Darrius Davis (Indiana University Northwest), Justin Pennington (Indiana University Northwest), TsaLiDi Sequoyah (Haskell Indian Nations University), and Hasan Tucker (Northern New Mexico College).
The 2017 A.I.I. Championships begin on Friday at 5pm CST on the campus of College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Missouri.

Player of the Year

Angelo Griffis – Rochester College


Defensive Player of the Year

Brian Bridgeforth – Washington Adventist University


Newcomer/Freshman of the Year

Jubril Osagie – Central Christian College


Coach of the Year

Klint Pleasant – Rochester College


First Team

Brian Bridgeforth – Washington Adventist University
Michael Gholston – Central Christian College
Angelo Griffis – Rochester College
Patrick Mitchell – Wilberforce University
Cameron Paschke – College of the Ozarks

Second Team

Andrew Bonner – Johnson & Wales University
Tyrus Fleetwood – Washington Adventist University
Kyle Holmes – Fisher College
Jaylen Larry – Rochester College
Zach Thompson – Lincoln Christian University

Honorable Mention

Samuel Clayborn – Central Christian College
Darrius Davis – Indiana University Northwest
Justin Pennington – Indiana University Northwest
TsaLiDi Sequoyah – Haskell Indian Nations University
Hasan Tucker – Northern New Mexico College